14 Sep 2014

Posted on 14/09/2014

2


This week saw the ‘end’ of the Oscar trial and with it hopefully the last of the media frenzy that has accompanied much of the 40 odd days in court. I haven’t watched much of the trial. It’s not that I’m ‘against’ the whole case; it’s just that my thoughts remain with Reeva and her family. I, like most, don’t know much about them personally except what I see via the multitude of media channels. It’s so easy to get caught up in between tweeting, forwarding those rude WhatsApp jokes and updating our facebook status to remember that the real victim is Reeva.

Our good Honourable saw it fit to announce the much-anticipated ‘2014 Mid-Year Fiscal Policy Review Statement’ this week. I attended Highway Africa again this year. I was involved in a conversation with a Nigerian comrade about life in Nigeria just before one dinner engagement. He described to us in more detail than I have ever heard about life in Lagos. He spoke about his reality and why he simply gets on with life despite what the government chooses to do with their policies and the small matter of raising taxes and so forth. I had no idea, I would be writing about our few exchanges today. My comrade spoke about his ‘ability’ to simply ignore what the government can provide for his and family as long as he can afford to buy fuel for the generator and new batteries for the inverter. He mentioned water supply but I missed that bit – I had slipped away to get a glass of vino at that stage. Priorities! Point is, he spoke about the huge informal sector in Nigeria and how despite what the government does, the people especially those in the informal sector simply get on with it.

Turning to our Mid-Year Fiscal Policy Review, I couldn’t quite help but notice that the information that stuck out at me included a 25% duty on cell phones and an increase in fuel. I’m obviously not an economist, but an increase in fuel usually triggers an increase in other areas and unfortunately important areas. I could be wrong. I wonder if this review policy will ‘encourage’ us to formalise our business structures. The reality is most people on the street won’t understand what the 140 page document means in simple terms and most are struggling to make it through each month. What we needed (badly) are policies that give us more than hope. We need solid solutions.

The First Lady and VP Mujuru are now Dr G Mugabe and Dr J Mujuru respectively. People shared their opinions on the matter. Maybe it’s just me (busying trying to survive in this harsher than usual economy) but I didn’t actually know they were studying for their PhDs. However I’m more interested in the contents of their final paper (for now).

I turn to my favourite social media platform and stumbled across these gems. These tweet made me think:

and this one:

and this one:

Oh yes! Takanyi finished up with the Davis Cup team in Cairo. They won!! I hope the newspapers pick up on that story.

Comrade Takuru wrote an interesting piece this week about journalists and their relationship with Prof Moyo. Definitely worth a read – click HERE.

Till next week.

