@263Chat wins Highway Africa Award

Posted on 05/09/2013

6


After leaving Harare over the weekend, I arrived in windy Port Elizabeth and headed to Grahamstown in South Africa for the Highway Africa 2013 Conference.

The conference days were jam-packed with various lectures by key note speakers, panel discussions, workshops and book launches. Eventually the time came for me to give my presentation on @263Chat during a panel discussion. That night was also the Telkom-Highway Africa Awards. I was made aware of @263Chat’s nomination for the New Media Awards 2013 Innovative Use of Technology for Community Engagement Category a week or so before departure. I was naturally excited and shared the news with others.

I am extremely proud to share the news that @263Chat won that award on Monday night at the Telkom Awards Dinner at the 1820 Settlers’ Monument.

Highway Africa Award

I would to take this opportunity to thank Mrs. SirNige for understanding and supporting the @263Chat dream from day one. Thank you to the entire @263Chat family for the engagement and the much-needed dialogue. We desperately need to continue our dialogue and to convert these discussions into real actions for our beloved country.

