Graça Machel Scholarships for Women for 2014

Posted on 24/06/2013


This scholarship will open for applications on 17 June 2013.

To apply, click here.

In partnership with the Graça Machel Trust, we award this scholarship on an annual basis.

Are you eligible?

To apply for a scholarship under this programme you must be:

  • Female
  • A national of and normally resident in one of the SADC countries: Angola, Botswana, DRC, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe
  • In possession of a good first degree (minimum second class, upper division or equivalent) or about to graduate in the year of application
  • Studying or applying to study at a South African university

Please consult the Graça Machel Scholarships for Women Guidance Notes for details.

What we offer

Full tuition, stipend, mentoring and other support for Honours, masters and PhD study at South African universities.

How to apply

The application process will open on 17 June and close on 4 August for study commencing in 2014. When we are open applicants can access our online application system via this webpage. Applicants must apply to their chosen universities separately and awards are conditional on the applicant being offered a place at the relevant university.

NB. When the application process is closed the application system will not be accessible via our website. Please do not submit applications using old forms–these will not be processed.

This scholarship is generously funded by The Sol Plaatjie Trust, MacSteel International and others.