Graca Machal Scholarships for Women in Postgraduate Study

Posted on 12/07/2011


Deadline: 12 August 2011

The Canon Collins Trust invites applications from women only for scholarships for postgraduate study in South Africa in 2012. We will provide funding for up to a maximum of one year for Honours, two years for Masters and three years for PhD. Continued funding depends on satisfactory progress and academic reports.

The scholarship covers full tuition fees, medical insurance for non-South African scholars, a stipend towards living costs, a travel allowance and a study resource allowance, payable in the first year of study only.  Awards in 2011 were as follows:

  • Tuition fees paid in full
  • Medical insurance up to R3,500 for non-South African scholars
  • Stipend R48,000
  • Study resource allowance R9,000 (in first year of scholarship only)
  • Travel allowance (for scholars coming to South Africa from other SADC countries only) R7,000

Applicants must:

  • Be a woman
  • Be nationals of or have refugee status in one of the following countries: Angola, Botswana, DRC, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe
  • Be seeking this scholarship for postgraduate study
  • At a South African university

Find out more

Source: Kubatana Newsletter

Add this anywhere