High divorce rates amongst the Zimbabwean diaspora?

Posted on 08/12/2010

12


I was talking to a close sister of mine on Sunday afternoon. Wait wait wait! Let me start from the very beginning. Actually I was craving KFC – typical occurrence every 6 months or so I might add. I found the closest KFC to me, ordered my meal and sat down to eat. In the midst of all this, I received the call from this close sister and we chatted for some time whilst I demolished (emphasis here) that KFC meal. So sister and I spoke about relationships and the challenges faced by some Zimbabweans in the diaspora. I recall another twitter friend of mine who tweeted something about how she had noticed the high number of divorce rates amongst us Zimbabweans (emphasis on the under 30 bracket here), once again in the diaspora. In fact now that I’m thinking about this, in the last 2 months or so I’ve been involved in various discussions with friends about this very issue. I can’t seem to put my finger on the reasons why the rate is as high as it is. Is it because we tend to be so far away from the rest of the family and therefore feel no pressure to make things work out i.e. we give up too easily? Are we just impatient? Not realistic enough? Are there family interferences especially with the distance? Are we too materialistic? Have we adopted other cultures too quickly too soon without fully understanding our role/position/thoughts in that? Are we simply lost? Is this the reality i.e. if we were back ‘home’ we’d probably stay together to save face? Are we struggling with the pressures of being a Zimbabwean, an African and living away from ‘home’? What? What is it? I’m struggling to find the answers myself and I know that every situation I discuss or hear about is different so I don’t want to generalise here.

So ask you, the reader, what are your thoughts? What are your experiences? What is going on? Or am I just making this up? You tell me…

Add this anywhere

Share

