Is South Africa better than Africa?

Posted on 15/08/2010

9


Vodpod videos no longer available.
 
 

   

According to Wikipedia ‘Xenophobia is the uncontrollable fear of foreigners’. I know that fear has an effect that I don’t know or fully understand. I also appreciate that everyone is different and fear is relative. I stumbled across this video on Khaya Dlanga’s YouTube account. What Khaya discusses in this clip is actually quiet interesting i.e. the idea that there are some South Africans out there who believe that Africa and indeed South Africa itself are completely separate entities. I now wonder if this ideology (i.e. South Africa is better than Africa) is what helps fuels xenophobia at the grassroot level in South Africa? Or is it simply an economic issue? What do you think?  

Add this anywhere

Share

