Graça Machel Scholarship for postgraduate study in South Africa

Posted on 04/08/2010


Deadline: 10 August 2010

The key aim of the Graça Machel Scholarship Programme is to help provide the female human resources necessary for economic, social and cultural development in the southern African region and to develop an educated and skilled workforce that can benefit the wider community. Scholarships that target women have long been recognized as an effective approach in addressing gender equality and eradicating poverty. By providing opportunities to study at postgraduate level, these scholarships aim to empower women and to equip them to take up leadership positions in order to have a direct impact in the communities, nations and region in which they live. Following in the footsteps of Graça Machel, these female scholars will be positive role models for other women.

The scholarship is for female students from Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe studying in South Africa.

The scholarship is for two years’ postgraduate study and includes payment of a maintenance allowance, travel, health insurance and tuition fees.

Scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis to women on the basis of academic/professional merit, financial need, intended academic programme, leadership potential and commitment to work for constructive change in Africa. Applicants must have at least two years’ relevant work experience. 

More info here

[tweetmeme source=”nigelmugamu”]


Add this anywhere