Winnie Madikizela-Mandela, Madiba & the ANC

Posted on 11/03/2010

0


Winnie Mandela opened her mouth yesterday and shot from the hip as she tends to do. Now everybody’s mad and the ANC want her to ‘clarify’ statements she supposedly made in an interview. I don’t really understand why she has to. Is this because someone dared to insult holy than thou ‘Madiba’ himself? Could this just be an angry ex-wife voicing her opinion? Or could it simply be the thinking of ANC members too afraid to speak against the ‘founder’ of the ‘Rainbow Nation’ so Winnie speaks for them instead? I’m not sure what to make of it really – I guess I’m still researching and gathering info on the subject matter. As a Zimbabwean I am more than happy for Mandela’s legacy to continue as is but in my solitude I often wonder about what contributions Steve Biko, Oliver Tambo, Thabo Mbeki et al made to their struggle. Perhaps in time I will learn more of their struggle & realise their truth.

Background links: –

http://www.mg.co.za/article/2010-01-24-winnie-we-have-lost-the-soul-of-anc

 http://www.mg.co.za/article/2010-03-09-anc-seeks-winnie-to-verify-mandela-remarks

Posted in: Africa, Politics