And then I woke up

Posted on 26/10/2008

0


I woke up this morning
Less moodier than usual
Ready to embrace this new day
Limited amount of alcohol in the good ol’ blood system
A stride in my step
A full night’s rest
One healthy breakfast (for a change)
And yet
I was still tired

I’m tired of being tired
Tired of hearing
Listening
To all this negativity on the news
We’ve known of our self-destruction for years now
Scattered across all the TV networks
Why sensationalise?
Wall street on fire
Job losses
Uncertainty
Inflationary issues
Capital-ism innit?
And yet
The economic divide still exists

I’m tired of people who don’t give a toss
I won’t lie
I’m not the greenest person I know
Yet I notice that we continue to damage our environment
We litter
We pollute
We segregate based on phobias
Phobias that have no real basis in this life today
I’m tired of hoping that one-day
We will finally see the light
I’m tired of brethren who speak so eloquently of love
Yearning for its name
Finding it
Embracing it
And fail to realise that to maintain
Requires one to take care of home in the truest sense

I’m tired of politically correct conversations
That lack direction often infuriating both parties
(Sigh)
Most days I agree
Jack was right!
Most people can’t handle the truth
So we lie
We front
Almost pitching our angle
As if it actually matters
This isn’t a marketing campaign
This is life
Real life
Be you!

I’m tired of people who judge me and mine
As if this right here is the finished product
Why can’t they see the truth?
Too quick to draw heat
Judging first and omitting the all-important truth
Seek to understand first
Often
They fail to acknowledge the error of their ways
Ego and pride infected
Failing to see the obvious
I am
We are
All a work-in-progress
Always been the case
Nothing’s changed

I’m tired of high maintenance relationships
So now I don’t bother
Call it age if you will but
I’m tired now
I talk you listen
You talk I listen
Respect must exist in all of this
Fair exchange I say
I recently realised I’m not a cat
No nine lives to live
So I’m doing this one life I have proper
Not afraid to invest
To love
To embrace love
So I work tirelessly at the things I believe in
But some days
Some days I’m just tired
Mentally and physically
That’s life I suppose
So at that point I rest hoping
That the next day
I wake up
Less moodier than usual
Ready to embrace this new day
Limited amount of alcohol in the good ol’ blood system
A stride in my step
A full night’s rest
And one healthy breakfast

Tagged: ,